Aluminium

Transport

Context and Objective

In countries where energy costs are a major constraint, aluminium has long been used in rolling stock construction to reduce the weight of vehicles and lower energy consumption. For every kilogram of aluminium that replaces heavier material, GHGs are reduced by 20 kilograms throughout the life of the vehicle. Airplanes, subways, trains, buses, trams, and trolleys are manufactured in aluminium around the world by some of the same major producers present here in Quebec.

It is obvious that sustainable mobility, transportation electrification, and aluminium are a perfect fit. Indeed, the Quebec government committed to electrification of transportation in Copenhagen as part of its strategy to reduce greenhouse gas emissions: a 20% reduction by 2020. The transport sector accounts for 40% of this target, of which 80% depends on activities of the Greater Montréal region.

Advantages of aluminium in the production of transportation equipment

  • Lightweight
  • Mechanical strength
  • Ease of manufacturing
  • Watertightness
  • Recyclability
  • Durability
  • Corrosion resistance
  • Energy absorption
  • Formability
US Environmental Protection Agency

The evolution of alloys and joining techniques for aluminium, especially friction-stir welding, helps reduce the total cost of ownership of public transit vehicles of all stripes.

The United States’ CAFE 2025 (Corporate Average Fuel Economy) standard opens the door to a natural market for Quebec companies able to gain a foothold. The US administration announced that the standard will extend to medium and heavy-duty vehicles, to trailers including campers. Automobile manufacturers were swift to comply: the 2015 model of Ford’s iconic F-150 was 300 kg lighter thanks to its new aluminium body design— other manufacturers have already announced their intention to proceed in the same direction. Some years ago, luxury brands such as Range Rover were innovators in this field.

Actions

Consortium Bus électrique

Consortium Bus électrique (CBÉ)

In its June 2010 budget, the Quebec government launched the electric bus development project (Projet mobilisateur de l’autobus électrique – PMAÉ), which led to the creation of the Electric Bus Consortium (Consortium Bus Électrique – CBÉ). In this program, the government committed to investing 50% or up to $30 million for the development of standard electric bus prototypes. The consortium plans to deliver its first buses in 2017.

The AAC contributed to the CBÉ’s work by commissioning relevant technical and trade studies.

Studies

Practical solutions to prevent galvanic corrosion between aluminium and steel in ground transportation (French only)

This guidebook was produced in 2011 for the AAC by the NRC’s Aluminium Technology Centre.

Research showed that some North American manufacturers and bus buyers were reluctant to integrate aluminium into their vehicles. The skepticism regarding the ability to effectively combine aluminium and steel without risk of galvanic corrosion had a deterrent effect on the use of aluminium.

The purpose of the handbook was to demonstrate that galvanic corrosion is a manageable phenomenon from an operational standpoint as part of the manufacturing process of rolling stock. Specifically, this document aimed to demystify galvanic corrosion between aluminium and steel, and identify methods to effectively and reliably deal with its occurrence during bus manufacturing and maintenance.

Search for aluminium parts suppliers

In the spring of 2011, the AAC commissioned the Trans-Al Network to identify Quebec SMEs that could manufacture buses with high aluminium content. The analysis resulted in a shortlist of manufacturers with the capacity to produce all the major parts of a bus in aluminium.

Partial global survey of aluminium bus deliveries per manufacturers1

Over 100,000 aluminium buses have been built and used worldwide in over 30 years. The goal of this non-exhaustive survey was to show Quebec policy makers that aluminium has a long, successful history in the manufacturing of buses across the globe. If aluminium is becoming increasingly indispensable for the automotive sector, it should also be the case for public transit.

At the time it was conducted, this study identified integrators and manufacturers using aluminium all over the world; this number has surely increased since then due to interest for electrification and lightweighting of vehicles in connection with greenhouse gas reduction projects.

In 2011, over 100,000 buses made mostly of aluminium were in circulation around the world.

1 Source: Partial global survey of aluminium bus deliveries per manufacturers, National Research Council Canada, prepared for the Aluminium Association of Canada, May 2011. (Available in French only)

Other applications in Quebec

Aluminium is increasingly prominent in the decision-making process of transportation equipment manufacturers. These decisions are motivated by lightweighting requirements to meet consumption and GHG reduction targets or financial considerations such as total cost of ownership, which integrates the cost of material over the lifetime of the product from maintenance to recycling.

In the near future, other projects in Quebec could benefit from aluminium including:

  • The new AZUR Montréal métro cars: this electric train will be lighter, as several of its components are made of aluminium, including the roof.
  • The light rail transit (LRT) planned for the new Champlain bridge will be electric and have a dedicated lane; an aluminium body would reduce its weight and increase its energy efficiency.
  • Other LRT projects such as Montréal’s West Island LRT and airport shuttle, outsourced to the Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec, would only benefit from an aluminium design.

Back

Other uses

L'aluminium

Transport

Contexte et objectif

Dans les pays où les coûts de l’énergie sont une contrainte majeure, on utilise depuis longtemps l’aluminium dans la construction de matériel roulant afin d’alléger le poids des véhicules, réduisant ainsi la consommation d’énergie. Pour chaque kilo d’aluminium remplaçant un matériau plus lourd on diminue de 20 kilos les GES durant la vie du véhicule. Avions et métros, trains et autobus, tramways et trolleys se fabriquent ailleurs dans le monde, en aluminium, par certains des mêmes grands manufacturiers présents ici au Québec.

L’adéquation entre mobilité durable, électrification des transports et aluminium va de soi. Effectivement, l’électrification des transports est un élément majeur auquel s’est engagé le Gouvernement du Québec à Copenhague avec sa stratégie de réduction des Gaz à effet de serre (GES) : réduction de 20% d’ici 2020. Le secteur des transports comptant pour 40% de cet objectif, dont 80% dépend des activités de la grande région de Montréal.

Les propriétés avantageuses de l’aluminium dans la fabrication de matériel de transport

  • Légèreté
  • force mécanique
  • facilité de fabrication
  • étanchéité
  • recyclabilité
  • durabilité
  • résistance à la corrosion
  • absorption d’énergie
  • formabilité
US Environmental Protection Agency

L’évolution des alliages et des techniques d’assemblage de l’aluminium, notamment avec l’arrivée de la soudure par friction-malaxage, contribue à réduire le coût total de possession d’un véhicule de transport en commun, quel qu’il soit.

La norme CAFE 2025 (Corporate Average Fuel Economy) des États-Unis, ouvre la porte à un marché naturel pour les entreprises québécoises qui sauront se positionner, car, c'est fait, l'administration des États-Unis a annoncé que la norme s'étendra aux véhicules lourds, semi-lourds et remorques, incluant les roulottes. On peut d’ores et déjà constater la réaction des manufacturiers d’automobiles, Ford a réduit le poids de son légendaire F-150 de 300 kg en concevant son modèle 2015 avec une carrosserie en aluminium; les autres constructeurs ont déjà annoncé leur intention de procéder dans le même sens. Quelques années plus tôt, des marques de luxe, comme le Range Rover, avaient innové en la matière.

Actions

Consortium Bus électrique

Consortium Bus électrique (CBÉ)

Dans son budget de juin 2010, le Gouvernement du Québec a lancé le Projet mobilisateur de l’autobus électrique (PMAÉ) qui amena la création du Consortium bus électrique (CBÉ). Dans le cadre de ce programme, le Gouvernement s’était engagé à financer 50% ou jusqu’à 30 millions $ du développement de prototypes d’un autobus standard électrique. Le consortium devrait livrer ses premiers autobus en 2017.

L’AAC a contribué aux travaux du CBÉ en commandant des études techniques et commerciales pertinentes.

Études

Solutions pratiques pour contrer la corrosion galvanique entre l’aluminium et l’acier dans le transport terrestre

Ce guide a été produit en 2011 pour le compte de l’AAC par le Centre des technologies de l’aluminium du CNRC.

Il avait été constaté que certains manufacturiers et acheteurs nord‐américains d’autobus, se montraient réticents à intégrer l’aluminium dans leurs véhicules. Le scepticisme envers la possibilité de marier efficacement l’aluminium et l’acier, et ce, sans risque de voir des phénomènes de corrosion galvanique apparaître représentait un frein à l’utilisation de l’aluminium.

L’objectif du guide était de démontrer que la corrosion galvanique est un phénomène gérable du point de vue opérationnel dans le cadre de la fabrication de matériel roulant. Plus spécifiquement, ce document visait à démystifier la corrosion galvanique entre l’aluminium et l’acier, et expliquer quelles sont les méthodes qui permettent de contrer efficacement et de façon éprouvée son apparition dans le contexte de la fabrication et de l’entretien d’autobus.

Recherche de fournisseurs pour composantes d’aluminium

Au printemps 2011, l’AAC avait mandaté le Réseau Trans-Al afin d’identifier les PME québécoises qui pourraient contribuer à la fabrication d’autobus avec fort contenu d’aluminium. L’analyse a démontré qu’un échantillon de PME manufacturières avait la capacité de produire toutes les composantes majeures d’un autobus en aluminium.

Recensement mondial partiel des livraisons d’autobus en aluminium par manufacturiers1

Depuis plus de 30 ans, plus de 100,000 autobus en aluminium ont été construits et utilisés dans le monde. Ce recensement non exhaustif a été fait pour démontrer aux décideurs du Québec que le choix de l’aluminium comme matériau dans la fabrication d’autobus a été fait ailleurs et depuis longtemps. Si l’aluminium est devenu de plus en plus incontournable pour le secteur de l’automobile, cela devrait être aussi le cas pour le transport en commun.

Au moment de la réalisation de cette étude, on a pu identifier des intégrateurs et manufacturiers utilisant l’aluminium partout dans le monde; ce nombre a certainement augmenté depuis avec l’intérêt pour l’électrification et l’allègement de véhicules en lien avec les projets de réduction des gaz à effet de serre.

Déjà en 2011, plus de 100 000 autobus conçus en grande partie en aluminium circulaient sur les routes du monde.

1 Source : Recensement mondial partiel des livraisons d’autobus en aluminium par manufacturiers, Conseil National de recherche du Canada, préparé pour l’Association de l’aluminium du Canada, mai 2011.

Autres applications au Québec

L’aluminium prend progressivement sa place dans les décisions de manufacturiers de matériel de transport. Ces décisions sont parfois motivées par des impératifs d’allègement, afin de rencontrer des objectifs de consommation et de diminution des GES, elles s’appuieront aussi sur des notions plus économiques comme le coût total de possession qui intègre le coût du matériau sur la durée de vie du produit jusqu’à son recyclage, en passant par son entretien.

Dans un avenir rapproché, d’autres projets au Québec pourraient bénéficier du choix de l’aluminium, notamment :

  • Le nouveau métro de Montréal, l’Azur, en est un. Ce métro tout électrique gagnera à être plus léger; plusieurs de ses composantes, dont le toit, sont en aluminium.
  • Le système léger sur rail (SLR) prévu sur le nouveau pont Champlain sera électrique, sur voie dédiée, il pourra aussi bénéficier d’être léger en étant en aluminium et, ainsi, de consommer un minimum d’énergie.
  • Tout autre projet de SLR, comme celui du projet de train de l’Ouest de l’Île de Montréal et de navette aéroportuaire, imparti à la Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec, gagneront à être conçus d’aluminium.

Retour

Autres utilisations