The registration period to the 2016 Christian-Van-Houtte award is now closed. The information for the 2017 Christian-Van-Houtte award will be announced shortly.

In the fall of 2015, the Aluminium Association of Canada created the Christian-Van-Houtte Award in memory of its founder, Mr. Christian Van Houtte, president of the Association for 18 years, to highlight his contribution to the industry’s evolution.

A pioneer and visionary, he helped mold the Quebec and Canadian industry into the model of sustainable prosperity that it is today, by rigorously documenting the full value of aluminum produced here and positioning the industry in the context of sustainable development even before the term took off.

The total annual amount of $5,000 will be divided into two prizes of $2,500 for two Master’s students ‘research is on one of the following themes:

Aluminium and Sustainable Development

The prize aims at rewarding research work on various aspects of sustainable development in the industry, both in terms of production in Quebec as well as the material’s contribution to sustainability throughout its life cycle.

The Economics of Aluminium

Rewards research work on economic aspects of this industry a powerful lever for the national economy, providing a permanent and increasing contribution to the economic wealth of Canada and Quebec.


A six-member jury was established to analyze research projects and recommend the most deserving students to the Aluminium Association of Canada. The members of the jury are highly respected individuals who worked with Mr. Van Houtte to develop our industry:

  • Normand Bergeron, former Deputy Minister of Natural Resources and Chair of the Board, AluQuébec
  • Daniel Denis, Partner, KPMG–Sécor
  • Me José Dorais, Lawyer, Miller Thompson, and legal counsel for the AAC since its founding
  • Hélène Lauzon, President and Executive Director, Quebec Business Council on the Environment (CPEQ)
  • Dr. Carmine Nappi, Economist (retired)
  • Daniel Normandin, Executive Director, Institute of the Environment, Sustainable Development and the Circular Economy (HEC Montréal – Polytechnique Montréal – Université de Montréal)

Unveiling of winners

Unveiling of the winners takes place at the annual reception of the Aluminium Association of Canada, which takes place in the fall.

2017 Christian-Van-Houtte Recognition Award

At the 12th edition of its annual cocktail held last October 12, 2017, AAC celebrated the CETA Agreement between the European Union and Canada by awarding four Christian-Van-Houtte Recognition Awards to outstanding individuals and government institutions.

An award was given to Mr. Pierre-Marc Johnson, Chief Negotiator, Government of Quebec and one to Mr. Christos Sirros, Delegate General of Quebec in Brussels (during negotiations). Mr. Johnson and Mr. Sirros both played a key role in achieving this agreement. In addition, two other awards were given to Canadian and European government institutions that brought the agreement to life.